Tahiti is the largest island in French Polynesia. It is located in the archipelago of the Social Islands. The area of ​​the island is 1,048 km2. The island consists of 2 circular parts which are connected by a coating. Both parts are of volcanic origin, and are called “Tahiti nui” (Great Tahiti) and “Tahiti iti” (Little Tahiti). The majority of the population lives in Greater Tahiti. The vegetation on the island is densely tropical. The island is suitable for agriculture, and the surrounding ocean is rich in fish. About 190,000 people live on the island. The largest city is Papete. About 137,000 people live there, and it is a solid city with buildings, an international airport and everything that can be seen in larger European cities on the coast.

The island was part of the Kingdom of Tahiti until its annexation by France in 1880. Tahiti was originally settled by Polynesians between 300 and 800 AD, and now they represent about 70% of the island’s population, with the rest made up of mostly of Europeans, Chinese, and the rest.